login about faq

I've been actively tracking a few packages that are coming to my area, using the CR-48 Tracker. However, it has stopped working, because it says, "We will be back shortly after some anti-spamming measures have been implemented." Now I guess I just have to wait and see if I get one. Have any of you guys been hit by this terrible tragedy?

asked Dec 20 '10 at 16:20

Ztag100's gravatar image

Ztag100
1.4k102115126

edited Dec 21 '10 at 22:53

GavinRoskamp's gravatar image

GavinRoskamp
1.0k61123

Should this be closed now? It is back up and running.

(Dec 26 '10 at 16:35) TheTechDude TheTechDude's gravatar image

12next page »

Yep it's down. Some people started spamming the site.

answered Dec 20 '10 at 17:58

xGodot's gravatar image

xGodot
1

how were they spamming the site?

(Dec 20 '10 at 18:04) Ztag100 Ztag100's gravatar image

Yea its been down for like 6+ hours already, why would anyone want to spam the site? I guess someone went mad 'cause they're not getting one haha

answered Dec 20 '10 at 18:19

NiNE1911's gravatar image

NiNE1911
1

edited Dec 21 '10 at 19:08

Justin's gravatar image

Justin
8.3k104142221

You do realize that by looking at the URL, a child could figure out that this website isn't true. If you really wanted to track a CR-48 notebook, you'd use the official Google website, which they don't have, so you're desperately waiting for something that most likely isn't going to come.

answered Dec 20 '10 at 18:23

catchatyou's gravatar image

catchatyou
18.8k76161359

and why isn't it true?

(Dec 20 '10 at 18:25) Ztag100 Ztag100's gravatar image

Do I even have to explain to you how cheesy the URL sounds? At lease have like Goog.le or something. The URL is just sketch, okay.

(Dec 20 '10 at 18:33) catchatyou catchatyou's gravatar image

the URL is that developers brand. it wasn't just made up cheese.

(Dec 20 '10 at 18:41) Ztag100 Ztag100's gravatar image

The "sketchy" thing to me is that there have been 0 copycat sites. Something with the amount of press this site has gotten would seem to me to have copycat sites going up wanting some of that Google Ads action. What is this site operator doing that is such a "secret method" of lookups? The UPS API will not give the info that this site gives, at least not with anonymous queries.

Just a hunch, but what if this person is recording the zip codes people are using to lookup their area and then based on that adding a few every now and then. Maybe not, but just an idea. Someone could easily make their site a dangling carrot for all of the wishful CR-48 owners that sit at work and hit reload all day while making this guy some easy Adsense $$$.

answered Dec 20 '10 at 18:41

7daysageek's gravatar image

7daysageek
1

That is if people do click on the ads

(Dec 21 '10 at 12:15) NiNE1911 NiNE1911's gravatar image

Lol. I think '7daysageek' gave out a pretty good idea. I can attest that addicted gamers tracking was dead on for a friends netbook. It even showed the updates of it getting delayed by the snowstorm us here in the mid-west got.

answered Dec 20 '10 at 19:21

gr8hairy1's gravatar image

gr8hairy1
11

It's querying the UPS tracking API for reference numbers. These are assigned by the shipper (can be a description, customer name, or in this case sequential SKU blocks of 2000) so knowing the pattern would get you all of them. I played around with the reference numbers, and it seems like Google sent out 3 batches:

AAC1XXXXXX (up to AAC1001982)

AAC2XXXXXX (up to AAC2002127)

AAC3XXXXXX (up to AAC3002115)

All of these turn up 6 pound packages sent within the past few days, with the earliest being the 9th.

Source: http://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=1996372

answered Dec 20 '10 at 19:27

boxerfangg's gravatar image

boxerfangg
1

It's back up but the numbers haven't changed since the 16th. I'm guessing the "leak" it depended on has been plugged.

answered Dec 21 '10 at 03:17

znmeb's gravatar image

znmeb
1

I guess so too, it was showing the same info for the past 4 days

(Dec 21 '10 at 12:17) NiNE1911 NiNE1911's gravatar image

It got my friend's CR-48 delivery exactly right, so I was kinda depending on it since my friend didn't get the confirmation email from Google that they're supposed to be sending out if you're selected.

Of course, it looks as though it hasn't been updated in a while, so don't go off of it if you're dying to know if you're getting one or not.

answered Dec 21 '10 at 22:51

GavinRoskamp's gravatar image

GavinRoskamp
1.0k61123

Well, it turns out that one of the Cr-48s destined for my zip code showed up today and I'm now using it! I filled out the developer form and when a link to pilot test one showed up in my Chrome Developer Channel browser on announcement day, I filled out that form too. I am guessing it was the second one - following the pilot test link from the developer channel browser - is the one they picked.

answered Dec 21 '10 at 23:00

znmeb's gravatar image

znmeb
1

Yea I've heard all over that there are still shipments going out every day, it's just that the AG tracker doesn't have the code for these new shipments, and that's why it only shows shipments from the 16th latest. Unless A_Gamer can find the new tracking numbers, the site really isn't any help for us anymore. I applied yesterday (12/20) and am patiently waiting.

answered Dec 22 '10 at 00:03

Jacknife's gravatar image

Jacknife
151127

Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or __italic__
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Become a Gnomie!


Join Us in the Chat Room

Tags:

×618
×21
×5

Asked: Dec 20 '10 at 16:20

Seen: 7,749 times

Last updated: Dec 26 '10 at 16:35