login about faq


MS Security Essentials flagged this file saying it didn't recognize it. I scanned the directory with Malwarebytes which didn't find anything. Can anyone tell me if this is legit and what its from?

asked May 04 '12 at 20:05

Jonesm's gravatar image

Jonesm
3918692100


Yes, that is a legitimate directory and file location.

Adobe's own uninstall guide confirms it:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/928315

However, I can't confirm if the flashplayerinstaller.exe file on your system is a legitimate copy or not.

Anyway, the /SysWoW64/ directory is basically the brother for the /system32/ directory on 64 bit versions of Windows. The /system32/ folder stores the 64 bit binary's and .exe's, while the /SysWoW64/ folder holds the older 32bit versions. (Yes, I am aware the names are reversed. You can thank Microsoft's obsession for legacy support for that.)

answered May 05 '12 at 01:45

Griff's gravatar image

Griff
1.4k1525

Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or __italic__
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported


Join Us in the Chat Room

Tags:

×147
×83
×32
×8

Asked: May 04 '12 at 20:05

Seen: 4,842 times

Last updated: May 05 '12 at 01:45