I've been doing some volunteer tech support for my school and they are going to upgrade my school computer account to one with more privileges so that I can fix things like file association problems. When I get an upgraded account, I'll need to be able to fix things on other's accounts.
Here's our config: Every student has a netbook/laptop where they login and can access their files saved on the network (not sure exactly what this is called... I'm 13. I'm nowhere near an IT guy). All programs and settings are stored locally. We're using Windows XP Pro SP3 and use SASI.
I need to know how to login with my upgraded account to fix problems on other people's accounts on the system. If I change a setting when I'm logged in, will it stay like that for the other users, or will I have to change something on the person's account?
Answer by David · Feb 16, 2012 at 11:40 AM
Basically it sounds like they will give you administrator privileges with some restrictions of course. When you log in you will be able to do anything they allow you to do. When you make changes to accounts, folders, etc, they will be permanent.